Navigation Menu+

Architectural styles Timeline

Understanding the style and time period of your property is essential for choosing the correct windows and doors

Timeline of architectural

Whilst this isn't an exhaustive guide on architectural time periods, the timeline below offers the most often recognisable periods of building style in the UK.

Edwardian 1901 - 1914

Strictly speaking, the Edwardian period falls during the brief reign of King Edward VII, from 1901 to 1910. However, there are differing views as to when the Edwardian period ends. For some, the period is extended up to the sinking of the Titanic in 1912; for others it extends to the start of World War I in 1914 and then there are those who take it to the end of hostilities with Germany in 1918, or the signing of the Treaty of Versailles in 1919.

Victorian 1837 - 1901

Victorian houses were built between 1837 and 1901, when Queen Victoria was on the throne - though the term Victorian is commonly applied for the periods immediately before and after her reign.

Gothic Revival 1740 - 1850

The Gothic Revival architectural movement began in the late 1740s in England. Its popularity grew rapidly in the early 19th century, and draws features from the original Gothic style.

Regency 1811 - 1820

The Regency era is the name given to the period just after King George III was declared unfit to rule and his son, the Prince of Wales, took over as Prince Regent. The era lasted from 1811 until 1820, when the King’s death meant that the Prince was renamed King George IV and became a fully-fledged monarch.

Late Georgian 1750 - 1840

It was during this time that the fashion of homes became a great deal more fluid and flexible. In fact, some architects even experimented with the Gothic revival within larger, statelier homes. It is important to note that the British involvement with India had also brought about the idea of Mughal architecture which was imitated amongst the rich throughout the UK.

Early Georgian 1714 - 1750

This is thought to have been between the years 1714 and 1750 and witnessed the revival of Palladianism. This had created distaste for anything being overly decorated and kept all styles and rooms relatively simple in taste and style. Lord Burlington became the known leader for the Palladian movement.

Tudor 1485 - 1603

The Tudor architectural style is the final development of Medieval architecture in England, during the Tudor period (1485–1603) and even beyond.

Gothic 1140 - 1750

Gothic architecture originally began in at the Basilica of Saint Denis located close to Paris. Whilst it began in 1140, the style of architecture came to an end during the 16th century with Henry VII Chapel in Westminster.

Abbeville Press Great American Houses and Their Architectural Styles
Book (Abbeville Press)
  • Product Details: Hardcover: 348 pages
  • Publisher: Abbeville Press; 1st edition (October 1, 1994)
  • Language: English, ISBN-10: 1558597506, ISBN-13: 978-1558597501
  • Product Dimensions: 10.3 x 10.2 x 1.2 inches, Shipping Weight: 4.6 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Related Posts